Department Information

Information Technology


Information and communications technology (ICT) is at the heart of every organisation and is central to our daily lives: mobile communication, computer games, touch screen technology, satellite navigation devices– the list is endless.

The sector is responsible for developing software, internet, computer gaming, IT services, telecommunications and business change necessary to succeed in today’s global digital economy.

ICT careers range from IT support and service technician roles to software and systems development, web design, consultancy and management, business analysis and network engineering roles. 


Mrs D Gomez (HOD)
Ms M Duffin
Ms E Irwin
Mrs S Hunter
Mr E McVeigh

Key Stage 3

ICT forms a vital part of every pupil's developing knowledge, understanding and experience. Pupils need a broad range of experiences that reflect real-world uses of digital technology, to include:

  • Networks and VLE
  • Office 365
  • E-safety
  • Using ICT effectively: email, social media, backing up data
  • Creating and editing digital images
  • Scratch
  • Python Programming
  • Spread sheet modelling
  • Database Development
  • HTML coding and website production
  • Game Development


GCSE Digital Technology (CCEA)

This course lasts two years.  It's aim is encourage students to become independent users of digital technology. 

Unit 1: Digital Technology (Written Exam)

Unit 2: Digital Authoring Concepts (Written exam)

Unit 3: Digital Authoring Practice (Coursework)

Cambridge National Certificate in IT

This courseis equivalent to one GCSE.  The Certificate comprises four units, including two core units.  One of the core units is exam based.  The core units include:

  • Understanding computer systems (Written paper)
  • Using ICT to create business solutions

Two additional optional units will be studied.



Cambridge Technical IT Level 3 Introductory Diploma

This course is equivalent to one A-Level and will provide progression opportunities within related areas of study at university or other institutions.

The course consists of six units over two years for the completed qualification:

  • Communication and Employability Skills for IT
  • Information Systems

Four further optional units will be studied.

All units offer both theory and practical sessions to maximise understanding within this highly specialised work-related qualification.


The following is placeholder text known as “lorem ipsum,” which is scrambled Latin used by designers to mimic real copy. Mauris egestas at nibh nec finibus. Sed a ligula quis sapien lacinia egestas.

Vivamus sit amet semper lacus, in mollis libero. Vivamus sit amet semper lacus, in mollis libero. Donec eu est non lacus lacinia semper. Suspendisse nec congue purus. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit.